Kyushu Basho · Fukuoka Kokusai Center · 8-22 November 2026
The Kyushu Basho: Dates, Seats and the 2026 Schedule
The November Grand Sumo Tournament runs fifteen days at the Fukuoka Kokusai Center. Yummy Guide's chair-seat ticket pairs a tournament seat with an English-speaking guide who briefs you before entry and helps at the gate. It has no reviews yet, and you watch the bouts on your own once inside.
- 15 days 8 to 22 November 2026
- ¥2,000-20,000 Face Value, Chair Seat to Ringside
- Free Cancellation
The Experience
What the Chair-Seat Sumo Tour Includes
From Yummy Guide's own listing: the chair-seat ticket, the pre-entry briefing, and what the guide does not cover once you're inside.
Highlights
- Experience the excitement of Japan's national sport with a local guide
- Learn about the history, traditions, and rituals of sumo wrestling
- Enjoy the tournament from a comfortable chair seat at Fukuoka Kokusai Center
What's Included
- Grand Sumo Tournament chair seat ticket
- Local English-speaking guide for pre-entry support
- Entry assistance
- Pre-entry introduction to Sumo culture, history, rules, and traditions
Good to know: This tour includes chair seats only. · Seat locations cannot be selected or requested. · The maximum booking size is 3 guests. (※If your group consists of 4 or more guests, separate bookings will be required. Guests with separate bookings may not be seated together, and adjacent seating cannot be guaranteed due to ticket availability. ) · Please bring a valid photo ID if requested by the organizer. · The local guide provides a pre-entry introduction and admission support only. The guide will not accompany guests during the tournament viewing inside the arena. · Grand Sumo Tournament tickets are in high demand. · Not Included: Guide accompaniment during the tournament viewing, Food and drinks, Transportation, Personal expenses
How to Plan a Kyushu Basho Visit
Four steps from the schedule to a seat, for a tournament whose general sale is already sold out.
Check the Dates and Pick Your Day
The tournament runs Sunday 8 to Sunday 22 November 2026 at the Fukuoka Kokusai Center. Doors open at 8:45 on days 1 to 12, 10:30 on days 13 and 14, and 10:00 on the final day. Day 1 opens with the association chairman's greeting; day 15 closes with the three-rank ceremony and the Emperor's Cup.
Watch for the Banzuke on 26 October
Ranks for November aren't fixed until the banzuke appears on Monday 26 October 2026. Until then the September list stands: yokozuna Onosato and Hoshoryu, and ozeki Kirishima, Kotozakura and Aonishiki. Wrestlers can withdraw even late in a tournament, so no appearance is ever guaranteed.
Know the Seats Before You Choose
Tickets come in three classes: isu (chair seats, ¥2,000 to ¥6,000), masu (floor boxes for four, ¥32,000 to ¥56,000) and tamari (ringside cushions, ¥20,000, ages 16 and over only). Everyone aged four and over needs their own ticket, even a child sharing a box.
Book a Seat the Practical Way
Fukuoka's box office sells nothing in 2026, on the day or in advance, and the general sale that opened 19 September is already marked sold out. What's left officially is Ticket Oosumo's face-value resale; a tour that already includes a seat is the route most visitors end up taking.
Photo Gallery
The Chair-Seat Tour, in the Operator's Photos
Photographs from Yummy Guide's own listing for the Fukuoka Grand Sumo Tournament chair-seat tour.



Book Your Experience
Check Availability & Prices
Select your preferred date and time. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure.
Three Ways Into the Kyushu Basho, Side by Side
The same tournament, three ways to get a seat (or decide you don't need one yet). Yummy Guide's chair-seat tour is this site's featured pick; gotcha Corporation's shorter visit and Remakr Japan's morning practice are the other two products sold with a seat or ticket price on this page.
| Feature | FEATURED Chair-Seat Tour With a Guide | Guided Visit, Reserved Seat | Morning Sumo Practice |
|---|---|---|---|
| What You Pay | From about $634 per person | From about $127 per person | From about $76 per person |
| Seat Class | Chair seat; the exact class (S, A, B or C) is not stated and can't be chosen | Depends on the option chosen at booking; not stated on this page | No seat - no tournament ticket is included |
| The Guide | Pre-entry briefing and admission help only; no guide once you're inside the arena | Meets you at the venue; an introduction to sumo, then a bout from your reserved seat, over a 4.5-hour visit | Leads the practice viewing and an optional walk through Hakata Old Town afterward |
| Your Day | Picked at booking; next available 8 November 2026 | Picked at booking; next available 11 November 2026 | Offered in a 3-week November window; next available 1 November 2026 |
| How the Ticket Is Sourced | Not stated; confirm your seat class and date with the operator before paying | Not stated; confirm your seat class and date with the operator before paying | No tournament ticket involved |
| Who Runs It | Yummy Guide inc. | gotcha Corporation | Remakr Japan |
| Reviews | No reviews yet | 4.0 / 5 from 3 reviews | 4.2 / 5 from 22 reviews |
| Free Cancellation | Up to 24 hours before | Up to 24 hours before | Up to 24 hours before |
| Best For | A fan who wants a seat secured and help at the gate, whatever the sell-out situation | A fan who wants a guide and a seat together in one shorter visit | A fan who can't get a tournament seat this trip but still wants to see real sumo |
| Check Availability | See the Shorter Visit | See Morning Practice |
Other Ways Into the Basho
More Kyushu Basho Tickets and Sumo Experiences
Three more ways to spend tournament days in Fukuoka: a shorter guided visit with a reserved seat, a stable's morning practice, and a chanko-nabe lunch show. Prices, ratings and review counts are the platform's own.
RESERVED SEAT, 4.5H VISITFukuoka: Watch Sumo Tournament And Visit Sumo Spots!
A guided 4.5-hour visit to the Fukuoka Kokusai Center combining an English-speaking introduction to sumo, a walk past the venue's souvenir shops and a live tournament bout watched from a reserved seat.
REAL MORNING PRACTICEFukuoka: Morning Sumo Practice and Hakata Old Town
A guided viewing of a sumo stable's real morning practice near Hakata Station, offered only in a short November window, followed by an optional walk through Hakata Old Town's shrines, temples and canal streets.
LUNCH, SHOW & GUEST BOUTFukuoka: Sumo Experience with Chanko-nabe Lunch & Live Show
A chanko-nabe lunch and sumo show at a Hakata-area show restaurant, with a projector introduction to the sport, demonstrations of sumo movements and an optional costumed bout against a cast member.
A Fan's Planner for the November Basho
The Kyushu Basho: Schedule, Seats and How to Get In This Year
The 15 days, the seat classes, how a tournament is scored, and the practical way to a seat now that the official sale is sold out.
The Kyushu Basho, the Japan Sumo Association’s November Grand Sumo Tournament, runs fifteen days at the Fukuoka Kokusai Center, from Sunday 8 to Sunday 22 November 2026. It’s the last of the year’s six tournaments, and for fans who already know the word “basho,” the planning questions are specific: which day to pick, what a seat actually costs, and how to get one now that the general sale is sold out.
The tour this site features is Yummy Guide’s chair-seat ticket: a tournament seat paired with an English-speaking guide who briefs you on sumo before entry and helps at the gate, from about $634 on the booking platform when we checked. It has no reviews yet. The guide doesn’t stay with you inside — once you’re through the gate, you watch from your own assigned seat.
Check dates for the chair-seat tour →
The 15 days, Sunday to Sunday
Day 1, shonichi, opens with the association chairman’s greeting and runs alongside the Fukuoka Marathon elsewhere in the city. Day 8, nakabi, the middle Sunday, brings the presentation of wrestlers newly promoted onto the banzuke. Days 13 and 14 start later, with doors at 10:30 instead of 8:45, so the lower-division bouts run a shorter morning. Day 15, senshuraku, closes the tournament with the three-rank ceremony, the bow ceremony and the Emperor’s Cup.
Each day follows the same rough shape: the lower divisions fight through the morning in a quiet hall, the juryo wrestlers enter the ring at about 2:15pm, the top makuuchi division at about 3:40pm, and the yokozuna just after that. The last bout gives way to the bow ceremony around 6pm. The full day-by-day schedule lays out every day’s doors, ring-entering and closing time.
Which day to pick
Day 1 and day 15 carry the most ceremony, the greeting and flag return on the first, the Emperor’s Cup on the last, and both are weekend-priced. The middle Sunday has its own small ceremony and NHK World’s live English broadcast, which also covers days 1, 14 and 15. Weekday seats cost less than weekend ones, and the last two days run a shorter, later morning. Best day to watch the Kyushu Basho weighs the options against what each day actually costs and shows.
The seats, from the ring outward
Official tickets come in three classes, and the names matter because resellers often use their own: tamari (ringside cushions), masu (floor boxes) and isu (chair seats).
| Seat class | Face value, per ticket | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Isu (chair) | ¥2,000 to ¥6,000 | Weekday cheaper than weekend; the cheapest seat in the house |
| Masu (box) | ¥32,000 to ¥56,000, for a box of four | Shoes off, on floor cushions; sold and ticketed as a group of four |
| Tamari (ringside) | ¥20,000 | Ages 16 and over; no outside food, no photos without the organiser’s permission |
Everyone aged four and over needs their own ticket, even a small child sharing a box with the rest of the family. The seating chart guide goes seat class by seat class, including which one Yummy Guide’s chair-seat tour actually books you into — not stated on the listing itself, so ask the operator.
How a tournament is scored, in brief
Each top-division wrestler fights once a day for fifteen days; lower-division wrestlers fight seven times. A bout ends the moment a wrestler steps outside the ring or touches the clay with anything but the soles of his feet, no weight classes and no time limit involved. The wrestler with the best record over the fifteen days takes the Emperor’s Cup on the final day, with a playoff if two wrestlers tie.
Ranks run, from the top, yokozuna, ozeki, sekiwake, komusubi and maegashira, and a new banzuke fixes them after every tournament. The November banzuke isn’t out until Monday 26 October 2026, so for now the September ranks stand: yokozuna Onosato and Hoshoryu, and ozeki Kirishima, Kotozakura and Aonishiki. A year ago in this same hall, Aonishiki, then a 21-year-old newcomer from Ukraine, beat Yokozuna Hoshoryu in a playoff for his first title. He’s back as an ozeki, and wrestlers at his rank normally fight every day of a tournament, though no single wrestler’s appearance on any given day is ever guaranteed. How a sumo tournament works goes through the ranks, the ceremonies and the scoring in full.
Getting in this year
Official tickets run through Ticket Oosumo, the Japan Sumo Association’s own ticket service, and nowhere else. The general sale opened 19 September 2026 and is already marked sold out, and the Fukuoka Kokusai Center’s box office sells nothing this year, neither on the day nor in advance. What’s left officially is Ticket Oosumo’s face-value resale, for tickets other buyers release back to the association. Its English-language site takes credit cards only, adds a ¥2,000 fee per ticket, and prints your ticket at a 7-Eleven in Japan rather than sending an e-ticket. The association also bans ordinary resale and warns that a ticket bought from a resale site may be turned away at the gate.
Our view: for most people booking from outside Japan this year, a tour that already has a seat built in beats chasing that official process. Three of this site’s four products put you in the arena without touching Ticket Oosumo at all. Yummy Guide’s chair-seat tour, our featured pick, costs more, about $634, for a seat plus a pre-entry briefing, and carries no reviews yet. gotcha Corporation’s shorter visit, from about $127 and rated 4.0 from 3 reviews, pairs an English-speaking guide with a reserved seat over a 4.5-hour visit that covers only part of the full tournament day. Neither listing says where its ticket comes from, so ask the operator to confirm your seat class and date before you pay. That isn’t the same as an official ticket; it’s a practical way to a seat this year, and the difference is worth knowing before you book. Same-day and this-year ticket options and going with a guide cover both routes in full, including what Remakr Japan’s morning practice and the Hakata Sumo Beya chanko show offer if a tournament seat isn’t in the cards this trip.
Pick the way in that matches your trip:
Chair-Seat Tour With a Guide
A tournament seat plus a pre-entry briefing on sumo history and etiquette, with help at the gate. No guide once you're inside.
Check dates →Guided Visit With a Reserved Seat
A 4.5-hour visit: an introduction to sumo, a walk past the venue's souvenir shops, then a bout from your reserved seat.
See the shorter visit →Morning Sumo Practice
A stable's real morning practice near Hakata Station, in a short November window, with an optional walk through Hakata Old Town after.
See morning practice →Prices, ratings and review counts from our October 2026 data check; operators use seasonal pricing, so treat them as the shape of the market, not a quote.
A fourth option, outside the tournament seats entirely, is Hakata Sumo Beya’s chanko-nabe lunch and show, where you can watch demonstrations of sumo movements and, if you’re first in line, put on a costume for a bout of your own against a cast member. It’s a sumo-show restaurant near Fukuoka Airport, not a working stable, and it runs year-round rather than only during the basho. Going with a guide places it alongside the practice visit as the two options that need no tournament ticket at all.
Whichever way you plan to go, book before the banzuke comes out on 26 October. The seats won’t get any easier to find, and the names on them are the only thing still waiting to change.
Guest Reviews
What Fans Say
No reviews yet: this tour is new on the booking platform.
Book the Chair-Seat Tour With a Guide
Yummy Guide's chair-seat ticket pairs a tournament seat with an English-speaking guide, who briefs you before entry and helps with admission. It has no reviews yet. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before — pick your day once your travel dates are set. Starting from $634 per person.
Check Availability & BookCan't Make These Dates?
Browse More Available Options
More tours nearby from the booking platform. Check each one's cancellation terms before you book.
Kyushu Basho FAQ
What fans ask before a Kyushu Basho trip, answered in the first sentence. Prices are the booking platform's, checked in October 2026.
Sunday 8 to Sunday 22 November 2026, fifteen days, at the Fukuoka Kokusai Center. It is the last of the year's six Grand Sumo Tournaments, and the November ranking list (the banzuke) is not published until Monday 26 October. Doors open at 8:45 on days 1 to 12, 10:30 on days 13 and 14, and 10:00 on the final day. See the full day-by-day schedule
Not in 2026: the Fukuoka Kokusai Center box office sells nothing this year, neither on the day nor in advance. The official general sale opened 19 September and is already marked sold out. What is left officially is Ticket Oosumo's face-value resale; otherwise, a tour that already includes a seat is the practical route. What's left this year, and how to use it
Face value in Fukuoka runs from ¥2,000 for a weekday chair seat to ¥20,000 for a ringside cushion. A floor box for four costs ¥32,000 to ¥56,000. Tours that include a seat and a guide cost more: on this site, from about $127 to about $634 per person. Compare the products
Officially, only through Ticket Oosumo, the Japan Sumo Association's own ticket service - web, phone, or a 7-Eleven terminal in Japan. Its English-language site is credit-card only, adds a ¥2,000 fee per ticket, and prints the ticket at a 7-Eleven rather than sending an e-ticket. With the general sale sold out, a tour that already includes a seat is the other practical route. Going with a guide
For most visitors booking from outside Japan this year, yes - it is the more practical way to a seat than chasing an already sold-out official sale. Yummy Guide's chair-seat tour pairs a seat with a pre-entry briefing and has no reviews yet; gotcha Corporation's shorter visit pairs a guide with a reserved seat over 4.5 hours, rated 4.0 from 3 reviews. Neither states how its ticket is sourced, so confirm your seat class and date with the operator before paying. Check dates for the chair-seat tour
The banzuke is the official ranking list, reissued after every tournament; the November 2026 edition appears on Monday 26 October. Until then, September's ranks stand: yokozuna Onosato and Hoshoryu, and ozeki Kirishima, Kotozakura and Aonishiki. Wrestlers can withdraw even during a tournament, so no rank guarantees an appearance on any single day. Ranks, ceremonies and scoring
Fifteen days; each top-division wrestler fights once a day, lower divisions fight seven times, and the best record wins the Emperor's Cup on the final day. A bout ends the moment a wrestler leaves the ring or touches the clay with anything but the soles of his feet - no weight classes, no time limit, and a playoff if two records tie. The full breakdown
Day 1 and day 15 carry the most ceremony; weekdays cost less. Day 1 (8 November) opens with the chairman's greeting, day 8 (15 November) is the middle Sunday with its own small ceremony, and day 15 (22 November) closes with the three-rank ceremony and the Emperor's Cup. NHK World broadcasts days 1, 8, 14 and 15 live in English. Weigh the days against each other
About nine hours on most days: doors at 8:45, the last bout giving way to the bow ceremony around 6pm. The lower divisions fight all morning in a quiet hall; the crowd fills in for the afternoon, when the top division enters the ring at about 3:40pm. You can come and go as you like until 5pm. See the hour-by-hour schedule
Isu (chair) is one seat per ticket, masu (box) is a floor box sold and ticketed as a group of four, and tamari (ringside) is a cushion right at the clay, for ages 16 and over only. Face value runs ¥2,000 to ¥6,000 for a chair seat, ¥32,000 to ¥56,000 for a box of four, and ¥20,000 for ringside. None of this site's four products states which chair class its ticket actually books. The seating chart, seat by seat
No - it is a sumo-show restaurant near Fukuoka Airport, not a working stable, and it runs year-round rather than only during the tournament. Its chanko-nabe lunch and show include demonstrations of sumo movements and an optional costumed bout against a cast member, first-come, first-served. It needs no tournament ticket. See the chanko lunch and show
Yes - everyone aged four and over needs a ticket, even a small child sharing a box seat with the rest of the family. There is no child price on the official chart; family discounts come as kids' or senior boxes, swapped for an exchange voucher at the venue. None of this site's four listings states a minimum age of its own. Compare what each product includes
Yes - in Fukuoka you can re-enter through the gate as many times as you like until 5pm, keeping your ticket. That is Fukuoka's own rule; Tokyo's Kokugikan allows only one re-entry a day, so don't plan a Fukuoka visit around a rule that applies somewhere else. Plan your day
No single wrestler's appearance on any given day is ever guaranteed. Yokozuna normally fight every day of a tournament, with their own ring-entering ceremony in the late afternoon, but wrestlers do withdraw mid-tournament for injury. A year ago in this hall, newly promoted Aonishiki beat Yokozuna Hoshoryu in a playoff for his first title; both are expected back, on September's ranks, until the new banzuke says otherwise on 26 October. Ranks and ceremonies, explained
Still have questions? Email us at info@kyushubashotickets.com